Bliss Sheath


Science of Soul
A practical exposition of ancient method of
visualisation of Soul (Atma Vijnana)
Swami Vyas Dev Ji

by Yoga Niketan Trust, Bharat,

 CHAPTER V – p. 184




We shall now describe Anandamaya
Kosha, the sheath of bliss. From the point of view of the
subtle knowledge of Jiva (individual soul) the Bliss Sheath
is the last. It is named in various ways Hiranyamava Kosha
(the sheath of gold), Hrii Kamal (the lotus of the heart),
Hidaya Chakra (the plexus of the heart), Hridava Dahar (the
space of the heart),

Hridaya Guha (the cave of the
heart), Hridaya Pundarik (the lotus of the heart), Anatata
Chakra (centre of unstruck music pure creative sound
essence), Hridaya Akasha (the ether of the heart), Hrit
Padma (the lotus of the heart), Karona Sharira (the causal
body), Linga Sharira (the subtlest body), Brahmapur (the
city of Brahma) and Anandamaya Kosha (the sheath which is
full of bliss).

The Nature of the Bliss

Inside the heart is an oval-shaped
space, like a small seedless white grape. In the Puranas it
is also known as Jyorir Linga, the mass of light.


The position of the Bliss
Sheath.Bliss Heart


In the human body, in the middle of
the chest, hidden behind the two lungs, is the physical
heart, which is the reservoir of blood. Through blood
circulation this heart supplies life-energy and nourishment
to every part of the body, from the skin to the bones;
further it nourishes and sustains the sensory and motor
nerves and every organ and limb of the body. It is in this
heart that the Linga Sharira or Bliss Sheath abides. This is
the seat of Atman, the self. If the heart is dissected
longitudinally into two parts, you will find an oval-shaped
hollow similar to a small seedless grape; the Bliss Sheath
pervades this space. The heart is the centre of blood
purification; it attracts gross or impure blood, purifies it
and infuses pure blood throughout the body. With the
circulation of the blood, the functions of knowledge and
action also pervade the entire body. The atom-like soul that
is located in the subtle area of this space uses its nearest
instruments, Chitta (mind-stuff), Ahamkara (ego-principle),
Buddhi (intellect), Manas (mind), Indriya-s (senses) and
Prana (vital air or energy). Thus it operates the entire
body and fulfils the purpose of Bhoga (enjoy-ment) and
Apavarga (release). This will be fully described later at
the appropriate place. If, for some reason, the mechanism of
the heart stops, Jivatman (the individual soul) moves out of
the body, taking with it vital energy, subtle senses and the
four-fold internal organ. The wheel of life stops. And thus
the play (LiIa) ends. Life persists inspite of various
diseases of the heart and of the brain.

Through brain disorder some men
become eccentric, even lunatic; still life continues. But
when the heart, which is the giver of life fails, life
terminates. Why is this ? The reason is that the lord of
life abides in the heart and when the movement of the heart
stops He flies away from the heart.



The chapter on the description of
as the Center of Consciousness

The description of the elements of the

The description of the meeting of
..the source of
Science of the Soul.
Introduction Chapter of
of Soul

Adi Da on the ‘Three
Stations of the Heart’



Beezone a nonprofit
(501(c)3) educational foundation

All copyright
materials are used under authority of the
Use statute

State Code, Title