Bliss Sheath

Science of Soul
A practical exposition of ancient method of
visualisation of Soul (Atma Vijnana)
Swami Vyas Dev Ji
Swami Yogeshwarananda Saraswati
Published by Yoga Niketan Trust, Bharat, India

 CHAPTER V – p. 184



We shall now describe Anandamaya Kosha, the sheath of bliss. From the point of view of the subtle knowledge of Jiva (individual soul) the Bliss Sheath is the last. It is named in various ways Hiranyamava Kosha (the sheath of gold), Hrii Kamal (the lotus of the heart), Hidaya Chakra (the plexus of the heart), Hridava Dahar (the space of the heart),

Hridaya Guha (the cave of the heart), Hridaya Pundarik (the lotus of the heart), Anatata Chakra (centre of unstruck music pure creative sound essence), Hridaya Akasha (the ether of the heart), Hrit Padma (the lotus of the heart), Karona Sharira (the causal body), Linga Sharira (the subtlest body), Brahmapur (the city of Brahma) and Anandamaya Kosha (the sheath which is full of bliss).

The Nature of the Bliss Sheath.

Inside the heart is an oval-shaped space, like a small seedless white grape. In the Puranas it is also known as Jyorir Linga, the mass of light.

The position of the Bliss Sheath.Bliss Heart

In the human body, in the middle of the chest, hidden behind the two lungs, is the physical heart, which is the reservoir of blood. Through blood circulation this heart supplies life-energy and nourishment to every part of the body, from the skin to the bones; further it nourishes and sustains the sensory and motor nerves and every organ and limb of the body. It is in this heart that the Linga Sharira or Bliss Sheath abides. This is the seat of Atman, the self. If the heart is dissected longitudinally into two parts, you will find an oval-shaped hollow similar to a small seedless grape; the Bliss Sheath pervades this space. The heart is the centre of blood purification; it attracts gross or impure blood, purifies it and infuses pure blood throughout the body. With the circulation of the blood, the functions of knowledge and action also pervade the entire body. The atom-like soul that is located in the subtle area of this space uses its nearest instruments, Chitta (mind-stuff), Ahamkara (ego-principle), Buddhi (intellect), Manas (mind), Indriya-s (senses) and Prana (vital air or energy). Thus it operates the entire body and fulfils the purpose of Bhoga (enjoy-ment) and Apavarga (release). This will be fully described later at the appropriate place. If, for some reason, the mechanism of the heart stops, Jivatman (the individual soul) moves out of the body, taking with it vital energy, subtle senses and the four-fold internal organ. The wheel of life stops. And thus the play (LiIa) ends. Life persists inspite of various diseases of the heart and of the brain.

Through brain disorder some men become eccentric, even lunatic; still life continues. But when the heart, which is the giver of life fails, life terminates. Why is this ? The reason is that the lord of life abides in the heart and when the movement of the heart stops He flies away from the heart.

Go to:

The chapter on the description of the Heart as the Center of Consciousness
The description of the elements of the
Heart Center
The description of the meeting of
“The Preceptor”..the source of Science of the Soul.
Introduction Chapter of
Science of Soul

Adi Da on the ‘Three Stations of the Heart’

Beezone a nonprofit (501(c)3) educational foundation

All copyright materials are used under authority of the
Fair Use statute and United State Code, Title 17